ANNEXE 1

List of Journalists from the Official Press Detained or Sanctioned in 2008

Nguyen Viet Chien of *Thanh Nien* (Young People) sentenced to 2 years in prison 14-15 October 2008 on charges of "*abusing democratic freedoms to infringe upon the interests of the State, the legitimate rights and interests of organizations and/or citizens*" (Article 258 of the Penal Code)

Nguyen Van Hai of *Tuoi Tre* (Youth) sentenced to 2 years non-custodial re-education at the same trial. His sentence was lighter than his colleagues because he pleaded guilty. Both journalists were arrested on 12 May 2008 for reporting since 2005 on a million-dollar corruption scandal in the Transport Ministry (known as the PMU 18 Affair) in which several senior officials were arrested for corruption.

Ly Tien Dung, Editor in Chief of *Dai Doan Ket* (Great Solidarity, official organ of the Vietnam Fatherland Front, an umbrella of "mass" organisations controlled by the Communist Party), dismissed from his post by a Decision of 23.10.2008 for "violating the press law" by publishing three stories that conflicted with government and Communist Party policies.

Dang Ngoc, Deputy Editor of *Dai Doan Ket*, also dismissed by the Decision on 23.10.2008, along with the newspaper's entire editorial board.

Nguyen Quoc Phong, Deputy Editor-in-Chief and Huynh Kim Sanh, Editorial General Manager of *Thanh Nien* (Young People), Bui Van Thanh, Deputy Editor-in-Chief of *Tuoi Tre* (Youth), Duong Duc Da Trang, Head of *Tuoi Tre's* Hanoi Bureau, Tran Dinh Dung, journalist for *Khoa hoc va Doi song* (Science and Life) had their press cards revoked by decision of the Ministry of Information and Communication in August 2008 for "serious violations of regulations on media operation and information".

Ms Nguyen Thi Thanh Thuy, Deputy Editor-in-Chief of *Nguoi Cao Tuoi* (Elderly People) and journalist **Hoang Tuyet Oanh** have also had their press cards revoked for alleged charges of "corruption" and "lack of responsibility causing serious consequences".